Laos Tourist Visa

Apply now for your Laos Travel Visa

Do I need a travel visa for Laos?

Whether you need a Laos tourist visa or not depends on your nationality. At the moment, citizens of 29 countries are not eligible for a Laos visa on arrival or eVisa online and are expected to obtain a Laos tourist visa.

Travelers holding passports from the following countries are not eligible for Laos visa on arrival or eVisa Approval Letter:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Jordan
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)
  • Mozambique
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Syria (Syrian Arab Republic)
  • Swaziland
  • Tonga
  • Turkey
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

According to a notice released by the Laos Ministry of Foreign Affairs on October 2009, nationals on the list above must obtain their tourist visas at Lao Embassies or Lao Consulates abroad before entering Laos.

Travel Visa Types for Laos

Laos, at the moment, offers two Travel visa types:

  • The visa on arrival
  • The Laos tourist visa online (eVisa Approval Letter)

Laos tourist eVisa Approval Letter

In July 2019, the Laos government launched the Laos tourist eVisa Approval Letter, an electronic visa that simplifies the process of obtaining a visa to visit the country. Up-to -date information will be published on this site about the Laos eVisa.

The tourist eVisa for Laos is available through an online system. Applicants who wish to obtain a Laos visitor visa are able to complete an online form with their personal details and passport information. Citizens of 150 countries are now able to apply online for their Laos eVisa Approval Letter. It is expected that the electronic visitor visa for Laos will make it easier for travelers to visit the country.


Visa on arrival

The visa on arrival is a Laos tourist visa that allows its holder a stay of up to 30 days in the country. It is possible to extend the stay, however, travelers must pay 10 USD for each additional day they choose to stay in Laos.

If you are a national of one of the European Union countries, Canada, USA or Australia, you will be able to apply online for the eVisa instead of waiting in long queues at the airport to obtain your visa on arrival. Now, these countries are eligible for the eVisa and for the same length of stay and conditions, they can apply for their eVisa online from home.

Tourist embassy visa

The tourist visa for Laos is a requirement for citizens of 29 countries that aren’t eligible for the visa on arrival. To get this Laos tourist visa it is necessary to go to an embassy or consulate and present a valid passport and complete an application form. To finalize the process, applicants need to pay a fee for the Laos tourist visa.

How can I get a Laos tourist visa?

Getting a Laos tourist visa will be determined by your nationality. If you want to obtain a tourist visa for Laos it is important that you meet the requirements for one of the Laos visitor visa types.

To get a visa on arrival, you need a valid passport with at least 6 months remaining on your travel document, an application form, two photographs and cash to pay for the respective fee. You also need to be a citizen of an eligible country.

If you’re not eligible for the on arrival visa, you will need to get the Laos tourist visa by presenting your application and passport at a Laos embassy or consulate. You will also be required to pay for a fee and provide two passport-style photographs in color.

To get the Laos tourist eVisa you need a valid passport, an email address, and a debit or credit card. The online tourist eVisa Laos application is simple to complete.